top of page

Bad news for anyone anticipating Tarantino's R-rated "Star Trek" movie


From Indie Wire


Is Quentin Tarantino leaving “Star Trek” behind? The director has been attached to an R-rated “Star Trek” movie for well over a year now, but in a new interview with Consequence of Sound he casts some doubt on whether or not he’ll move forward as the project’s director. Tarantino is committing to his 10-film plan before retiring from feature filmmaking, which means he only has one movie left. “I think I’m steering away from ‘Star Trek,'” Tarantino said, adding that he has not had any official conversations with Paramount Pictures about his involvement.


Tarantino successfully pitched an R-rated “Star Trek” to producer J.J. Abrams and Paramount in December 2017. The studio brought in “The Revenant” screenwriter Mark L. Smith to work on the screenplay while Tarantino began production on “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood.” Tarantino said earlier this year he would return to punch up the “Trek” script after his “Hollywood” press tour wrapped, and then he would make a decision as to whether or not he would direct the “Trek” film. The filmmaker told /Film in May that helming “Star Trek’ was “a very big possibility,” but flash forward a few months and it seems like Tarantino doesn’t want his 10th and final film to be something as massive as “Star Trek.”


“In a strange way, it seems like [‘Hollywood’] would be my last. So, I’ve kind of taken the pressure off myself to make that last big voilà kind of statement,” Tarantino told Consequence of Sound. “I mean to such a degree there was a moment when I was writing and went, ‘Should I do this now? Should I do something else? Is this the 10th one?’ No, no don’t stop the planets from aligning, what are you, Galactus? If the Earth is saying do it, do it…But in a weird way, it actually kind of freed me up. I mean, I have no idea what the story of the next one’s going to be. I don’t even have a clue.”





Star Trek Giant Poster Book Voyage Two (1976) was published by Paradise Press in conjunction with Paramount Pictures. Star Date: 7610.01. Includes pictures of the cast as well as articles on the Star Trek technique for Special FX's, a critique of Harlan Ellisons "City," and the relationship between Kirk, Spock, and McCoy. Slick paper-stock, 8.25-in. x 11-in. (unfolds into a 22-in. x 33.5-in. poster). Giant movie poster of Captain Kirk, Mr. Spock, and Dr. McCoy.

238 views0 comments
bottom of page